Acquisition project | NRI Study
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Acquisition project | NRI Study

Elevator Pitch

Hi there, we'll take this one step at a time!

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If you struggle with a blank canvas, use this boilerplate to start. Remember, this is a flexible resource—tweak it as needed. Some sections might not apply to your product and you might come up with great ideas not listed here, don't let be restricted.

This is not the only format, we would love to see you scope out a great format for your product!

​

Go wild and dive deep—we love well-researched documents that cover all bases with depth and understanding.



Are you an NRI living a suboptimal life wondering if India will make it better?


I help NRIs figure out huge life decisions, like changing countries, crafting careers and designing life. Working with me helps you save or earn thousands of dollars by upleveling your game, saving costly deicsions and getting an injection of realism in your fantasy. With my expeirnce across continents, work at Google, Govt and startups, I am able to guide you to clarity weather its moving to india, salary expectations, entreprenurship in india or just changing careers.

Just one call, and you'll sleep better than you have in years. I promise.





Understand the user

Understanding your ICP

(Put down your ICP’s in a Table Format. A tabular format makes it super clear for anyone to understand who your users are and what differentiates them)


We have multiple users of a product and not all of them can be our ICP for whom we make our strategies, we need to prioritize.
(use an ICP prioritization table)

Criteria

ICP 1

ICP 2

ICP 3

Age

32

38


Gender

Female

Male


Location

Abroad/India

Abroad


Goals

to get married, get a better status

Needs domestic help


Appetite to pay

Medium

High


Career status

Low

High


Marital status

single/divorced

Married with 2 kids


Pain points

Lonely, needs guidance

overwhelmed



Feedback



Customer

Why they came to me

How it helped

Blockers

Improvements

Riddhi (ICP 2)

Round and round in cricles for 1 year

Validation

PRICING! Huge turn off

  1. Improve procing
  2. Give more reality checks esp for parents

Yes to meet as they have booked for next week







Summary of Feedback

  1. Pricing structure needs immediate changes
  2. A more comprehensive offering like a course




Understand the product

(Before you begin, you need to know what your product is, what are its features, what is the problem being solved by your product?)​

​Understanding Core Value Proposition

(Build your core value proposition by exact what your product does and what problem are you solving)

Mine is a coaching business:

For [NRIs] who [needs clarity], our [coaching] is [a service] that [helps NRIs get clarity, guidance and jobs whether they live abroad or are moving to india]







Understand the market

(Let's begin by doing a basic competitor analysis in a tabular format considering all the parameters for your product and its competitors)

Trends: It seems like COVID expedited the feeling to move back to India.

Tailwinds:

1) US president's proposed policies is pushing immigrants to fear based decisions

2) Future possibilities of war 2029+ will bring an influx of people back home

image.png


Competitor analysis





Competitor

Marketing

Pricing

Product

Offerings

Greencard Inc

Great website

Poor online presence.

0 Google search results.

Getting it through Soundary, whose channel/book has fame

$300 for courses

$1000 for +community

$10,000 for filing

Service to help NRIs get a green card

  1. Book
  2. Course
  3. Newsletter
  4. Webminar

Desi Return

Youtube channel


? Doesn't have a sellable product listed

Community based

Webinars

Podcasts

Free checklist

Back to India

Founder marketing

Google search results

$20 WA group

Freemium, $99/mo job posting (>1)

Community & Guides

Job board

Whatsapp groups

Guides











Questions for myself

  1. How can I elevate the whole community
  2. Am i aiming small

(Then let's try to understand the market at a macro level and evaluate the trends and tailwinds/headwinds.)

Now it’s time for some math, calculate the size of your market.

TAM = Total no. of potential customers x Average Revenue Per Customer (ARPU)
SAM = TAM x Target Market Segment (percentage of the total market)
SOM = SAM x Market Penetration/Share


TAM - Total addressable market Calculation

Assuming 500,000 NRIs who are confused about moving to india

Revenue is a mix

1000 buy a book ($10 product)

1000 buy a video course ($40 product)

30 buy 1:1 at $250

3 buy coaching at $800 a month ($8000 a year)

My total is

$10,000 + $40,000 + $7500 + $24,000 = $81,000

ARPU = 77000/ (1000+1000+30+3) = $37

My TAM is $37 * 500k = $18M

But without coaching, my TAM is $57,000/2030 = $28 * .5Million = $14 Million


Summary

  1. TAM with coaching = $18 Million
  2. TAM without coaching = $14 Million


SAM - Total Serviceable market Calculation

This is what is realistically serviceable. I think of 500k NRIs looking to move back, about 5-10% are actively searching, and 50% are passive.

  1. Passive ones will buy the book, but then not many read books: 10%
  2. Active will buy the course: %20
  3. Highly pained will buy the consult : 1%


I'll blend that down to 10%

Then SAM = TAM * 10% which is $1.4 Million

Summary

SAM = $1.4 Million


SOM - Total Market Share Calculation

Currently, I am not able to take on too many clients and i dont ahe a course. So i'll pout it to 1%

Which is $14,000

Summary

SOM = $14,000










If your product is in early scaling stage

Designing Acquisition Channel

(keep in mind the stage of your company before choosing your channels for acquisition.)


I've realised I pick channels based on what i enjoy the most! Or rather, dropping those i don't enjoy

I've picked

  1. YouTube and Instagram - Zerodha makes my videos so for me it's low cost, medium effort and high fun. I've clubbed it together, as one gets cross-posted on the other.
  2. Landing page - this is a totally no-brainer for me, considering how many leads I am letting go of today!
  3. Webminar - I am torn between this and newsletter, as I don't want to deal with webinar planning and hosting but at the same time i love events
  4. Newsletter

Organic Channels

Channel

$

Effort

Flex

Speed

Scale

YouTube

Low

Med

High

High

High

Instagram

Low

Low

High

High

High

Landing Page

Low

Med

High

High

Med

Book

High

High

Low

Low

Low

Talks

High

Med

Low

Low

Low

Newsletter

Low

Med

High

Med

Med

WhatsApp Group

Low

Med

High

High

Med

Quora / Reddit

Low

Med

High

Low

Med


Paid Channels

Channel

$

Effort

Flex

Speed

Scale

Search Ads

High

Low

High

High

Med

FB Ads

High

Low

High

High

High

Insta Ads

High

Low

High

High

High

LinkedIn Ads

High

Low

High

Med

Med


Partnership / Hybrid Channels

Channel

$

Effort

Flex

Speed

Scale

Webinar

Med

Med

High

Med

Med

Partnership

Med

High

Med

Med

High

​

Detailing Organic Research

Organic Channel

(Understand the existing organic channel strategy for your product and highlight the success and failure thereon.
Provide your suggestions and devise new strategies.)

Step 1 → Conduct keyword research on Google, Amazon, Youtube, Quora etc.
Step 2 → Collate all your insights from all your searches.


[I used AI to convert my screenshots into tables and categorise it-- however i've overwritten some categorisations and I have read through the results myself]


ICP thought process

Mind Map (1).jpg


Organic Channel Conclusions


  1. Few people know competitor names; however, the competitor's YouTube channel comes up in the results due to matching keywords
  2. Intent
    1. Google and Reddit is key for emotional direction,
    2. Quora has a bit of finance/tax inclination,
    3. Amazon no one's searching here
    4. Youtube has fewer keywords but its algorithm is mercy



Action Items

  1. Use "Moving to India" and "Return to India" as much as possible
  2. Focus on YouTube !
  3. Create a checklist for a lead, and get a landing page


Platform

Search Term

Intent Category (Suggested)

Google

nri moving back to india reddit

Community Opinions

Google

nri moving back to india tax implications

Financial Planning

Google

nri moving back to india checklist

Checklist/Practical

Google

nri moving back to india experiences

User Stories

Google

moving to india after us citizenship

Immigration Status

Google

returning india after long time

Time-based Return

Google

moving back to india to take care of parents

Family-driven

Google

is it worth moving to usa from india

Reverse Migration

Google

moving back to india from usa with kids

Family-driven

YouTube

moving back to india telugu


YouTube

moving back to india from <location>


YouTube

returning to india after 10 years


YouTube

returning to india after masters


YouTube

return to india telugu vlogs


YouTube

return to india series sahaja madhuri


Quora

Why would anyone want to leave the comforts of the US and return to India?

Emotional

Quora

Are 401(k) benefits good for Indians working in USA? Is there any way to withdraw money after returning to India?

Finance

Quora

Can I bring my mother to the US under H1B so she doesn’t have to return after 6 months?

Visa

Quora

What are the pros and cons of re-enrolling in a university vs returning to India after H1B rejection?

Visa

Quora

Is a 401k a good option for H1B if I plan to move back to India in 2–3 years?

Finance

Quora

Can any Indian who moved back after MS/PhD in USA share their story?

Visa

Quora

What is it like to move from India to the US?

Emotional

Quora

Why would you not move back to India after years in the US?

Decision Making

Quora

I transferred money from Europe to Indian salary account. Is that taxable?

Finance

Quora

Can I be paid salary in USD instead of INR from an Indian employer?

Finance

Quora

I receive part of salary abroad and part in NRE. Do I pay taxes in India?

Finance

Quora

Can I get US-based employer to pay in US account while living in India?

Finance


Detailing Content loops

Content Loop

(Keep it simple and get the basics right)

​

Step 1 → Nail down your content creator, content distributor and your channel of distribution
Step 2 → Decide which type of loop you want to build out.
Step 3 → Create a simple flow diagram to represent the content loop.



Whre does my audience spend time online

  1. Google
  2. YouTube
  3. Instagram (not a lot)


This one is easy for me



Channel

Creator

Loop type

Youtube

Me

Rage bait :)


Me

Others' stories




Newsletter

Me (I'm feeling kantala to do this coz it will require me to be disciplined)

Forwards




Webinar

Partnership

Referral discount





Detailing Paid Advertising

(Understand what is already being done, what is working out well and what needs to be stopped)

Step 1 → Define the CAC: LTV ratio. If your product has a healthy CAC:LTV ratio, proceed with paid ads.

Step 2 → Choose an ICP

Step 3 → Select advertising channels

Step 4 → Write a Marketing Pitch

Step 5 → Customize your message for different customer segments to ensure relevance

Step 6 → Design at least two ad creatives (e.g., images, sketches, videos, text ads) that reflect your marketing pitch.



LTV

My current LTV is just $375 because they just need one session from me


CAC

This one is tricky because i could include

  1. cost of lost opportunity
  2. travel to usa


However, i will use actual direct costs of living

  1. 65k for rent, and 20k for monthly costs, Rs 3000 to get to studio, Rs 8000 for co-working and cafes
  2. online tools $200 for chatgpt, $10 for domain, $200 for calendly, $20 per transaction for paypal business (assume 10 per year) so $200, $10 for video storage,

Total in USD is $14500 per year

CAC:LTV

Hence, my ratio is 14500/375 = 38, which is too high! [I wasnt sure how to exactly calculate this]


ICP Channel for a 32 yr old mom or father of 2

  1. Youtube seems perfect for this
  2. Google ads for a course might work too


Marketing pitch

ICP 35yr old with kids

Are you confused or curious about what life in India will look like if you were to move? Join this course and remove all your fears and future regrets. Save hundreds of dollars by learning about salaries and avoiding costly mistakes.

image.png

ICP 32 yr old single woman/Man

Do you think moving to india wil help you in your career, life and dating? Find out how to decide, up your career and feel great about where you are. Save hundreds of dollars by learning about earning more money, becoming a better person and avoiding costly mistakes.

[AI generated with a canva template]

image.png

image.png




Detailing Product integrations

(Understand, where does organic intent for your product begins?)

​

Step 1 → Identify complementary products used by your ICP


ICP Parent with kids

  1. kids subscription for education like kumao, or hindi classes


ICP single

  1. teamblind
  2. reddit
  3. twitter
  4. Madras cafe in sunnyvale




Step 2 → Use the selection framework and compare the potential integrations it in a tabular form.


Channel Name

Name


Integration Partner 1

​Hindi classes like kumau / edtech

Advertise with them

Integration Partner 2

​teamblind

Comment on them and advertise on their platform

Integration Partner 3

Madras cafe in sunnyvale

​Give them a $0.01 discount if they sign up for the course

[This somehow doesn't come up for my coaching business]


Step 3 → Collaborate with necessary stakeholders
Step 4 → Map the customer journey
Step 3 → Design the wireframe with the new integration
Step 3 → Run pilot tests before launching
Step 3 → Measure post-integration metrics

​






Detailing Referral / Partner program

(For B2B companies, if referral does not make sense you'll take a crack at a partner program for your product)

​

Step 1 → Flesh out the referral/partner program
Step 2 → Draw raw frames on a piece of paper to get the gist.​

(Don't spend a lot of time on design. This is for you to communicate how the referral hook will look)​

​

Referral Incentives


  1. Discount on future sessions - $ currency
  2. Resharing their posts - feature their story in a instagram story, or interview them - Fame currency
  3. Surprise thank you gift (Startbucks/amazon gift card) - $ currency
  4. Linkedin endorsement (for those who come for career coaching) -
  5. Free 30 mins on me - time currency
  6. A signed copy of my book - dopamine currency




Happy flow

When are my users happy?

  1. When I give THEM a discount
  2. When I give them an AHA moment
  3. When i give them something extra for free


Referral sharing channel


  1. WOM
  2. Email
  3. Whatsapp


[I struggled with this section to be honest]


Channel

Copy

Track

WOM

"If you know someone moving to India, tell them to contact Nupur at nupurdave.in/contact. Just make sure they mention your name in their first message!"

Not sure how to track this - use their email CC'd? They have to plus them in

Who referred you?" (Put a field in the form)

Email

Hey! If you want guidance about moving to india, take up this session with Nupur. You'll get a $20 discount if you take my name.

Email thread

Whatsapp

Hey! If you want guidance about moving to india, take up this session with Nupur. You'll get a $20 discount if you take my name. You can DM her at www.nupurdave.in/contact

Go back to email thread?





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